Maya Hawke - Moss - Translucent Orange Vinyl LP Record - Bondi Records

Maya Hawke - Moss - Translucent Orange Vinyl LP Record

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Back soon
Unit price
Tax included.
🚚💨 Spend $150 for free domestic shipping on vinyl
International Shipping calculated at checkout.

"Whether original or discovered, songs have always come into my life out of need. I think every song in this record is about a beginning hidden in an ending, hidden reclamations of ways I’ve disappointed myself.

The record opens with Backup Plan… because I think being absolutely and freely myself was always stupidly my backup plan. If I couldn’t succeed at being the person I was pretending to be if I couldn’t want the things I’d been pretending to want, only then would I give myself permission to just be me. Then came Thérèse and Mermaid Bar - Thérèse is about a misunderstood girl trapped in a painting and Mermaid Bar is about a girl who tries to end her life by jumping into the Hudson River and instead becomes a mermaid.

Bloomed Into Blue was originally a poem I had written with a friend in high school called the B-Word Muse. It was a tribute to Ariel, to Eddie Sedgwick, Marie Thérèse, and so many more…Women who were always the subject of art and not the creator. Worthy of being spoken about but not worthy of being listened to. This record reckons with childhood in Sweet Tooth and Driver, with regret in Luna Moth, Crazy Kid and Sticky Little Words, with anger in South Elroy, Restless Moon and Over.Above all this record wants to be about rebirth and acceptance.I’m crawling back to myself. Thank you for watching" - Maya Hawke

Track list:

A1 Backup Plan
A2 Bloomed Into Blue
A3 Hiatus
A4 Sweet Tooth
A5 Crazy Kid Featuring Will Graefe
A6 Luna Moth
A7 South Elroy
B8 Thérèse
B9 Sticky Little Words
B10 Over
B11 Restless Moon
B12 Driver
B13 Mermaid Bar