Various Artists - Late Night Tales: Groove Armada - Vinyl LP Record - Bondi Records

Various Artists - Late Night Tales: Groove Armada - Vinyl LP Record

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Back soon
Unit price
Tax included.
🚚💨 Spend $150 for free domestic shipping on vinyl
International Shipping calculated at checkout.

If it's a smorgasbord of rare mellowtronica and dance music from two of the UK's most esteemed curators you're after, then you could do worse than to check out this brand new reissue of Late Night Tales: Groove Armada that was originally released in 2008.

For their second team-up with the legendary label (and a release that even the BBC admits 'offers a selection of some great tunes'), Andy Cato and Tom Findlay have painstakingly compiled a collection of songs so varied, it'll leave even the most open-minded listener occasionally scratching their head.

And yet, somehow, it works - from an unlikely cover of Gary Numan's 'Are (Friends) Electric?' to the arcane Americana of Beyond The Wizard's Sleeve's mix of Roscoe via a Balaeric edit of Will Young and a White Isle-ready edit of Chris Rea's Josephine, the good ship Armada never fails to entrance. All aboard!

"When I look back on my career the two things I'm probably most proud of were the compilations we curated and the live show.
They were two things I think we do really well.

How many of them are still tunes that I play now? Obviously it's got 'Josephine' which is an Ibizan anthem and it's soundtracked all my best times in Ibiza.

There are the times you find yourself playing one of those nice beachside bars or an afterparty somewhere, and you play that record and it raises a roof and this edit is one I play all the time, even now." Tom Findlay, Sept 2023

Track list:

The League Unlimited Orchestra - The Things That Dreams Are Made Of
Roxy Music - Love Is The Drug
Kitty Grant - Glad To Know You
Depeche Mode - Enjoy The Silence

Max Berlin - Elle & Moi (Joakim Remix)
The African Dream - Makin' A Living
Midlake Roscoe - (Beyond The Wizard's Sleeve Re- Mix)

Liquid People - Son Of Dragon
Ace - How Long
Chris Rea - Josephine (French Edit)
Will Young - Friday's Child (Andy Cato Edit)

Marvin Gaye & Tammi Terrell - You're All I Need To Get By
Groove Armada - Are 'friends' Electric? (Exclusive Cover Version)
Peter, Bjorn And John - The Chills
The Cure - Close To Me
Finley Quaye Even After All Dub (Clean Version)
Will Self - The Happy Detective (Part 1) (Exclusive Spoken Word Track Written By Will Self)