Alice In Chains - Jar Of Flies - 30th Anniversary Vinyl LP Record - Bondi Records

Alice In Chains - Jar Of Flies - 30th Anniversary Vinyl LP Record

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Back soon
Unit price
Tax included.
🚚💨 Spend $150 for free domestic shipping on vinyl
International Shipping calculated at checkout.

The 30th-anniversary reissue of Alice in Chains' acclaimed "Jar of Flies" marks a significant milestone. Originally released on January 25, 1994, this EP achieved historical significance by becoming the first EP to debut at No. 1 on the Billboard 200 in its opening week of sales.

Following a grueling tour for their second album "Dirt" in 1992, "Jar of Flies" provided the Seattle grunge legends an opportunity to explore a more subdued and intimate, acoustic approach to recording. This project marked the first studio collaboration with bassist Mike Inez alongside existing members Layne Staley, Jerry Cantrell, and Sean Kinney. Inez had joined the band during their 1993 tour.

Reflecting on the experience, drummer Sean Kinney mentioned to Guitar World the band's desire for a change in pace after a year of performing loud music. Entering the studio without pre-written songs, they aimed to explore their musical chemistry, resulting in the creation of "Jar of Flies." The decision to release the material stemmed from the productive and harmonious session.

As a self-produced effort, "Jar of Flies" serves as a spiritual follow-up to their earlier EP "Sap" (1992), continuing the exploration of an acoustic-driven sound. Hits such as “I Stay Away,” “No Excuses,” and “Don’t Follow” demonstrated Alice in Chains' versatility, cementing their status as a distinctive and influential rock band of the era. The EP earned two Grammy Award nominations for Best Hard Rock Performance for "I Stay Away" and Best Recording Package, further acknowledging its impact.

"Jar of Flies" has received accolades over the years, including spots on year-end lists from Rolling Stone and Guitar World. Its enduring legacy was solidified in 2022 with a 4x Platinum certification from the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA), underscoring its lasting appeal and significance in the rock music landscape.

Track list:

Rotten Apple
I Stay Away
No Excuses

Whale & Wasp
Dont Follow
Swing on This

$(document).ajaxComplete(function(event, request, settings){ if(settings.url == "/cart/add.js"){ addedToCart() } })